Random Thoughts

So lately I’ve been thinking about what I could post on this blog, and I keep coming up with random thoughts rather than an actual blog post… so here are some random things going on in my head these days:

  • Traffic here is hilarious to observe. Case in point: I take bus 149 to get home after work. The bus left at the regular time, made a tight right turn, and had to stop short because another bus 149 was broken down. The two buses were stuck in a very narrow road with opposite traffic going through the other lane. Impatient drivers behind the bus decided to go around the buses, only to realize that they were nose to nose with another car trying to leave the narrow road! One car finally decided to go a different way, but the other car backed up a little bit, and (somehow) managed to get around the bus. Finally my bus was able to get around the broken bus by going into the opposite lane of traffic (a bus going the opposite direction stopped the rest of the traffic to allow space). The best part of this? I was the only one watching what was going on; everyone else on the bus kept on reading their book or minding their own business.
  • Ketchup: My students love ketchup and will put it on anything! Pizza, pasta, chips, popcorn, white rice. I get pretty grossed out by where ketchup ends up… I’m sticking to ketchup on my fries.
  • AFN (Armed Forces Network) commercials are terrible. They all are produced by the military. There are commercials reminding people to turn off light switches, clean up their yards, be a considerate roommate, and keep your records in one location. And they make these commercials with different themes (crazy wedding planner lady, Sherlock Holmes scene, dirty sock puppet).
  • Muesli and yogurt for breakfast… It has made me, um, regular, which is, um, a first for me. And it tastes yummy.
  • Metro rides are like free entertainment. The other day, I was standing to the side of a man who was sitting down, and next to him were two women who were chatting. The woman closest to the man blew her nose and somehow she missed the tissue and all of it ended up on the guy’s pants. It looked like fresh bird poop. Gross. The guy pointed it out to her, and she and her friend each pulled out tissues and started to clean up his pants. He wasn’t very happy. The ladies didn’t seem too fazed by the situation, though.
  • We are moving on Sunday to an apartment right by the embassy. This is awesome because Pete will now have a 5 minute commute (most of which involves the elevator) and my commute will be cut down by 20 minutes. And we get to live with two cats. We will also be right downtown so we can go out more in the evenings. I will, however, miss the pretty green area of where we are living now.
So yeah, that’s what’s been on my mind. There’s more, but I can’t remember right now.
7 Comments

Filed under Culture, Food, Hungary, Photography, Places, Teaching

7 responses to “Random Thoughts

  1. Anne Bird

    I always really enjoy what you have to say, Kimmy. It is so nice to see you really enjoying things there, and absorbing the day-to-day life in Budapest, including your observations on the people; funny how all over the world there are some things the same and some so different. Oh, and I have Muesli and yogurt every day for breakfast myself–always with some fruit thrown in too, especially berries–good choice! We’ll be anxious to see pictures of the new place. Moving should be pretty easy with so few belongings. I had a friend suggest that to be happy, one should own no more belongings than what their weight…you guys are the only ones I know who probably do that!

  2. Hahahaha. “It has made me, um, regular..” You crack me up! I’m glad you’re regular and enjoying yourself on this amazing adventure. 🙂

  3. Carole Pearson

    Kimmy, I’ve kept up with you and Pete and had a wonderful armchair vacation via your posts and photos. You both are so talented at writing and photo ops (oops, did I spell that wrong?) Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I think about you every day. To me Europeans are entertaining in a funny way. When I was in Europe I was kind of startled at what some would do or say, like the woman blowing her nose on the man’s pants and not really thinking anything about it. : ) I think if that happened to me I would be soooo embarrassed and probably faint. Poor man. I’m going to try Muesli for breakfast. I eat yogurt (Activia) and oatmeal, but I’ll try anything and everything to be “um regular.” I’m so glad that you and Pete are having this once in a lifetime experience and especially while you’re young. I Love You So Much, Grandma Carole

  4. Hi Kimmy! I am so impressed that you’ve been living out of a backpack for so long! My first trip to Europe (many moons ago) was not nearly as extensive as yours and I packed a huge suitcase (it was 10 days)- ha!
    Your photos of all the places you guys have visited are gorgeous! I wish you could stop by Scotland – it’s a gorgeous and super-friendly country! Do you guys fly back to the states at the end of the summer? I know it must be so hard think about coming home (and exciting too)!

  5. I hear you on the ketchup thing. I go to all the trouble of spicing meat up, making it have a wonderful flavor and then my husband and my boys slather it in ketchup or barbecue sauce. What is the point of even trying?

  6. Kimmy, your blog has answered a lot of questions in my life regarding my father and ketchup. I don’t know why or how, but my dad is obsessed with ketchup. He is very much like your students. He puts ketchup on potatoes and gravy, any sort of casserole, chicken, cooked vegetables, stir fry, sandwiches. Basically any meal he sits down to, ketchup is somehow involved in a weird way. I usually find myself glaring in annoyance at my father, making gagging sounds. But after this blog post I now understand that Ketchup is in his Hungarian blood. Thank you for this post. It has given me great insight 🙂

  7. Kimmy! Thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s been forever! How do I follow your blog on wordpress? I’ve been debating about making the switch, but I’m nervous. Any info you can give me on that? I’m loving reading about your adventures in Europe. What an amazing experience! I am a little jealous. Okay, I’m totally jealous 🙂 Good luck with your move!

Leave a Reply

