New Years and Goals and Stuff

Well, well. It is the end of 2011! I still keep thinking it’s 2010 so this whole 2012 thing is going to confuse me for a long time. This has been such an eventful year. I don’t think I made any resolutions at the beginning of this year, yet I suspect that some of the things that I would have put on the list did, in fact, end up happening. This kind of makes me not want to make a New Year’s list–maybe 2012 will go the same, right?

But still. Goals are good. So. Here are my goals (and maybe, if I catch Pete off guard, I can secretly get some of his goals, as well. It’s not as easy as it sounds).

2012 Goals and Stuff {Kimmy’s version}

  • No caffeine. At all. Totally serious. This little goal got started around Thanksgiving (do I get extra credit for starting a month early?). So far, so good. This goal would be impossible if I were in the US because of Dr Pepper, but Coke just isn’t that awesome here, so hopefully I can go an entire year without caffeine. I think the longest I’ve gone without caffeine is a month, so yeah, we’ll see.
  • Read 20 books. I used to be such an avid reader, but then I became an English major. That stole all of the fun of reading right out of me. I need to get back into reading. Any suggestions of what I should read? I’m reading The Help right now because my mom sent it to me, but I’d love to read more classics that I have somehow gone 26+ years without having read. I’ll update you on what I read and let you know how that goes. It’ll be a pretend book club. 20 books doesn’t sound like that much, but I do work full-time, so yeah. {Here are the books I have so far that I’m going to read: The Help by Kathryn Stockett, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle–I can’t believe I’ve only read one Sherlock Holmes story, Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott–It is insane that I haven’t read this book; I always have to pretend like I know what people (ahem, girls) are talking about when they talk about this darn book, and The Marriage Contract by Honore de Balzac, Villette by Charlotte Bronte–other than The Help, these are all books that I got for free from Amazon.com Kindle–woot!}
  • Try to learn how to like eggs. Pete loves eggs and whenever he cooks them, they smell so tasty. He does all of this great seasoning. But then I try to eat it and the shape, color, concept, and texture just freak me out. Unless it’s has 4% or less of egg content, I just can’t finish it. Eggs are cheap! and protein! I need to like eggs. Pete will be proud.
  • Finish reading The Book of Mormon. I’m in 2nd Nephi right now and it’s rough. But, I like reading it when I’m in taxis for work, so it is a great time for me to read. It’s like a set time, designated. This will happen.
  • Spend 1-2 hours per week practicing Russian. I really have no excuse for not learning the language. And it could be fun–maybe I’ll just watch Russian music videos and try to translate them or something (by looking up the lyrics online and then Google Translating them, don’t think I’m actually going to sit there and write out the lyrics by watching them on TV. Sheesh). Really, though. We have a stack of Learn Russian self-guides that Pete got from a guy at the Embassy in Budapest, and I think that that should be plenty of material to keep me busy.

Ok, so I think that’s more than enough for goal-making. I think I’ll be able to do it.

Here are Pete’s New Year’s Resolutions:

  • Learn Estonian and Russian–both at a functional level.
  • Try to publish something–like an article or a short story.
  • Not be poor. (I am TOTALLY on board with this one!)
  • Exercise/play sports once or twice a week.

There you have it! I am actually surprised that Pete gave me genuine resolutions. So, it’s written down for the world to see. We will let you know how these goals go (or don’t go).

Happy New Year in a few days!

12 Comments

Filed under Plans

12 responses to “New Years and Goals and Stuff

  1. aaron terry

    I approve of these goals, especially not being poor.

  2. Try taking a bell pepper and cutting it in rings, then putting your egg in the center so you get a fried egg in the shape of the pepper. I found this idea on pintrest and think it’s just awesome! I love eggs. If you need more suggestions come to my blog and follow me on pintrest. It’s got tons of great ideas for all kinds of things. As for books, I got tons of new ones for Christmas and I have also slacked off in my reading but I am in my senior year of undergraduate studies so that is part of it. I just started Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff. It’s non fiction and I love the subject matter. It puts me in the right mood for a class I will be taking this spring on the philosophical borderlands between science and religion. Can’t wait!

  3. Jaime

    Kimmy not drink Caffeine?! That is almost as weird as Kimmy drinking milk without it in a glass cup with three ice cubes… unheard of! Good luck!

    • It IS crazy that I made that goal! Whenever I see Coke I have to remind myself to step away. Ha! These days, I don’t really even drink milk cause you can only get 2.5% or higher–ewww! I like skim! 🙂

  4. Anne Bird

    Good for you both! Those look like great goals. Kimmy, Ali and I came up with a list of about 150 classics that everyone should read in their life and just kept checking them off as we read them, which was fun. Those all look like ambitious goals, and knowing the two of you, very attainable. I will be eager to see the progress.

  5. I especially like the egg goal. 😉 Last year I had a goal to use less toilet paper. 😉 Miss u!

  6. These are great goals! Awesome that you’re reading the BoM, stick with it! 3rd Nephi is my favorite book and that’s next for you! Thanks for introducing yourself on my blog, can’t wait to read more about you!

    ❤ Daryl
    Roots, Wings, and Other Things.
    Enter My Shabby Apple Giveaway While There’s Still Time!

  7. These sound like great resolutions!

    I think you’re making progress towards eggs if you think they smell good! I think they smell disgusting and taste gross – I wish I could learn to like them, but I just don’t think it’s going to happen.

  8. i cant reply back to your comments so i just wanted to stop by and say hello and i hope youre enjoying the new year!!!!!!!!

  9. I like your blog and have enjoyed reading about your travels. And I saw this post and just had to say…yay for English majors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

