New Semester

Hello! I’m not very good at blogging ever since we’ve arrived here in Tallinn. So, maybe I should get better at that. I usually think about writing something, but then it never happens because I’m too busy or not really in the mood. But it’s Saturday morning here, and it’s suuuuper windy outside so Pete and I are too scared to go outside to go to the market for some cheap food. Luckily we have a little pancake mix left, so Pete’s making that as we speak.

I started my new semester of classes this last week. So far, so good. The  amount of teaching hours is fine, even though some days are a bit spread out (on Mondays and Wednesdays I get to the school at 8 and leave at 7:15 or so).

Mondays and Wednesdays I teach a one-to-one with a guy who used to play football (aka soccer for my American friends). He’s pretty chill and laid back. I think it’ll be nice to keep working with him.

I’m also teaching an in-company class at a factory out near the airport (it’s always really foggy out there because it’s right by the sea and huge lake–very mysterious scenery). There are three guys and I think I’ll like the class. They want a lot of technical language that has to do with the machine they work with, so I’m using my amazing internet skills to try and figure out how I can go about teaching them about something that I don’t understand at all.

M/W I also teach an elementary level (they’re adults, but they are new at learning English) class at the school. They’re are 3 Estonians and 4 Russians, and they seem to stick together. They’re all super nice and I can tell that they have a lot of great things to say, but their language abilities limit them. But we can still talk about most things at a basic level.

Tuesdays and Fridays I teach at another in-company. I’ve been teaching them since September, so it is fun to see them advance. I really like the class; they are willing to do whatever I throw at them, and they always do their homework.

Tuesdays and Thursdays I teach a one-to-one. He’s still in high school (I’ve been teaching him since September, as well). He’s a really dedicated student and takes learning English very seriously. He’s quite advanced, so we’re able to have great conversations. He loves history, so we seem to talk about that fairly often.

Fridays I teach a Year 12 (grade 12) test prep course. At the end of their 12th year here, students have to take a test (basically like the ACT/SAT in the US). The students are 16-19 years old (because kids don’t start at school until 6 or 7 here, so they are older when they graduate). They seem like a good group of kids. It’s kind of funny teaching teenagers, because there is a completely different feel to the class. When we talk about our interests, it’s things like music, dance, etc. I like the variety. They are all at a decent level of English, so I’m sure we’ll be able to have some nice conversations in the future (yesterday was my first class with them).

So, I don’t know if anyone really is interested in what classes I’m teaching, but hey, I don’t really journal anymore, so this way I’ll remember what I was teaching. Anywho, the classes are great, and hopefully they will stay the same throughout the semester so that I can get into a great routine! I love it when my weeks are fairly stable and consistent.

Pete’s still out of school for the rest of the month. He has two papers he’s working on that are due soon. They will be interesting, I think. Of course I’m super jealous that he gets to be in school studying such interesting things (too bad he isn’t studying something that I wouldn’t be interested in–then I wouldn’t be jealous at all). He keeps busy by working as an intern at the Embassy (his last week is next week, though). He also has a freelance job as a proofreader/editor for a local company. They’ve given him one assignment, so hopefully they’ll give him more–yeah for money! He’s also working on a story that he might start posting snipets on here. It’s pretty dang funny, if you ask me (but I’m biased). Pete’s also keeping up with the Republican candidacy race–we have plenty of fun watching the debates/ads/The Daily Show/The Colbert Report.

So, there you have it! There’s our life as of right now! Woot!

1 Comment

Filed under Estonia, Teaching

One response to “New Semester

  1. you definitely have had it crazy lately i can see 🙂 i feel ya on that! my life is pretty much the same right now 🙂
    hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

