The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Sometimes, a book comes into my life that I know will hang around my mind indefinitely. Perhaps it was the story of The Goldfinch which influenced me, but more likely, it was the main character.

To me, an author who can make me love and hate a character, many times within sentences of each other, is a master of writing. Theo was a character who I worried about when not reading The Goldfinch. His plight was so real to me, and his personality was full of endearing attributes and tragic flaws.

I don’t want to give too much of the plot away, simply because I read the novel with no real research into the plot or reviews, and I think that my lack of prior knowledge of the story made it that much better, but I will say it is a fast paced (and long–800 pages!) novel that involves a painting which is as haunting as the novel in its name. So. If you can handle a gritty book with a bit of strong language, I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

